1 December 14 // New Beginnings

Slightly cliché, somewhat fortuitous: today marks a new beginning. In the past few weeks, some unbalanced moonbeam inside of me leaked and was causing all sorts of messes and chaos inside my mind and body (I’m not trying to excuse my absence, but I feel that an attempted explanation would not go astray). Somehow, the fact that the First of December has coincided with a Monday has meant that the various spider-silks making up the different aspects of my life have been woven together and the moon-leak has been set right.

Namely, I was struggling with finding inspiration and motivation to:
Physically: go to sleep and wake up early, stretch, exercise for more than 30 minutes a day more than 4 times a week, eat as well as my body deserves, challenge myself.
Mentally and Creatively: read as much as I had promised myself I would, find the joy in days that were difficult, keep up with friends, challenge myself to create more art and more writing, clarify where I am and where I am heading at this point in my life.

Over the next few weeks, I hope to be sharing my goal-setting strategies with you, as well as some of my specific goals and projects that will hopefully arise as a result thereof.

In the meantime, I have read a few books recently that I will list below, with a few words on their content and my opinion on them!

The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje: After having read In the Skin of a Lion for my HSC English Advanced Course (Module B) and falling in the deepest oceans of love for Ondaatje’s prose, I had very high expectations for TEP, especially given its rave reviews. Whilst still beautifully written, and I do really recommend reading it, I don’t feel that TEP captured my breath the same way ITSOAL did; I didn’t find it quite as convicting; it didn’t require so much of an emotional input from me.

Nefertiti, Michelle Moran: A bit slow to begin with, this piece of historic fiction paints a different image of Nefertiti than I had in my head – but still just as powerful. I do have a deeper interest in Ancient Egypt than perhaps a ‘normal’ (what is that, though?) teenager, but it really is a page turner! I stayed up until 12:30am to finish it!

Memoirs of A Geisha, Arthur Golden: Another winner. Also a little bit slow to begin (especially considering I had no knowledge of what this historical novel was really about/where it would be leading me), MoAG was a thrilling read for me; and as it picks up speed, you really get carried along with it; finding yourself connected to certain characters without even realising it!

See you very soon, loves xxx

Leave a Reply

