My Bones Ache in Heat

I stood, hunched
Over the kitchen sink and
The fleshy pit of a mango and
Everything I have feared to say.
The nectar smudged my chin and
Swam down my wrists,
Melting my pores and filling
my
Hollowed-out bones with summer
ache and I looked
Out into the storm that was
coming
That was making the air smell of
The empty wardrobe in my grandmother’s house,
Still full of
My grandfather’s clothes.

In the coolness of the kitchen
I cannot bear the weight of the
space between myself
And him anymore.

I stand and remember all the ways
A soul can burn.

– Mariela PT


Four years ago today (the 18th of April), I lost someone who was very, very dear to me. My grandfather always helped me keep my heart soft; made me want to be a better person. I miss him a lot, every single day, really. But I know that he still loves me, and that helps soothe a bit of the aching.

xxx

Leave a Reply

